Books

Book Club Meeting Dates for our 2022 Fall Term:

Saturdays online on Zoom: October 22nd, November 19th, December 17th

Time: 11 AM Eastern / 10 AM Central / 8 AM Pacific Time

View Our Previous Book Club Selections Here


October 22, 2022
X: A Novel by Davey Davis


One of the most talked about books of the year, X is a dystopian novel about love, kink, and obsession in a dark, future America that has taken a scary turn to the right. As stated by the publisher, “A thrilling portrait of political terror and the violent pleasures found in warehouses, bathrooms, and dungeons across New York City, X is a novel that delves into the psyches of characters on the margins.”


November 19, 2022
Sex Museums by Jennifer Tyburczy 


Tyburczy’s lively exploration of the history and politics of museums, which she dedicates to the Leather Archives & Museum on the first page, asserts that “any museum can be a sex museum.”  According to the University of Chicago Press, “Tyburczy shows museums to be sites of culture-war theatrics, where dramatic civic struggles over how sex relates to public space, genealogies of taste and beauty, and performances of sexual identity are staged.”


December 17, 2022
The Color of Kink: Black Women, BDSM, and Pornography by Ariane Cruz


This book was the winner of the MLA’s 2016 Alan Bray Prize for Best Book in GLBTQ Studies. As the blurb from Mireille Miller-Young states, “The Color of Kink breaks entirely new ground in the study of pornography and sexual cultures. Prioritizing the depathologization of black female sexuality and kink cultural practices, this book is a refreshing breakthrough in black feminist and queer theories of sex. Ariane Cruz offers usable theories that unleash the imagination and lubricate the way we think about black sexual politics.”

%d bloggers like this: